Dee Why

At Dee Why, the program includes a new northbound and southbound bus stop and a commuter car park with up to 120 additional commuter car parking spaces within the new PCYC development.

The environmental impacts of proposed roadworks at Dee Why have been assessed and the report of findings, called a Review of Environmental Factors (REF), was on public display in October and November 2016.

A total of 90 submissions were received during the public display period. They covered a range of issues including parking concerns, pedestrian fencing, the consultation process, bicycle facilities and environmental considerations.

TfNSW considered these submissions, along with the potential impacts identified in the REF, and made some changes to the scope of works.

TfNSW provided planning approval in February 2017. The Determination Report is available for download.

Further information about upcoming works will updated on this web page.


At Dee Why, the program includes a new northbound and southbound bus stop and a commuter car park with up to 120 additional commuter car parking spaces within the new PCYC development.

The environmental impacts of proposed roadworks at Dee Why have been assessed and the report of findings, called a Review of Environmental Factors (REF), was on public display in October and November 2016.

A total of 90 submissions were received during the public display period. They covered a range of issues including parking concerns, pedestrian fencing, the consultation process, bicycle facilities and environmental considerations.

TfNSW considered these submissions, along with the potential impacts identified in the REF, and made some changes to the scope of works.

TfNSW provided planning approval in February 2017. The Determination Report is available for download.

Further information about upcoming works will updated on this web page.


Questions asked here may be published with the answer at the project team's discretion and in accordance with the privacy policy. If you wish to ask a question privately, please contact us


Ajax loader transparent
Didn't receive confirmation?
Seems like you are already registered, please provide the password or use a different email ID
  • Will there be motorcycle parking at the Commuter car parking?

    RichardG asked 4 months ago

    HI Richard

    Thanks for your enquiry.

    There is and will be at least 6 dedicated motorcycle spaces on the right inside the entry.

    Regards

    ~ Andrea 

  • I would have anticipated that the PCYC carpark would be for the community and the members paying fees and classes at the PCYC. Not a commuter carpark! Fisher Road, Arthur street, McIntosh Street and surrounding streets have cars parked on both sides on the road on a daily basis. It becomes a game of chicken on a daily basis for my husband and i to drive near our home. How can 120 carspaces suffice the growth of units in the area? about 1000 should do it! Now if i plan to attend PCYC classes with my 16 month old son in the future and its pouring rain, and the carpark is filled by 7:30am, how is that fair that the carpark is alreay full. I havent been able to attend Rhyme time at the DY library for months as commuters, contractors and labourers are using it as there own private car park 8,10, 12 hours a day. Rhyme time only goes for 30 minutes! My son's, husbands and my GP is opposite the libary carpark but i can never get spot after 9am. Not the stress i need when i already have a sick child. The carpark under the old Coles Plaza is even more congested, especially when it rains. No one likes to park a Jeep outdoors now do they? Developers plan one and two bedroom units with only one car parking space. So the additional car ends up parked on the street long term. With the new business hub in dee why planned, where are employees expected to park. In my day 2002; Hornsby Westfield charged staff working within Westfiled $4 per day. Now im aware there is a separate boom gate for commuters and fees. One piece of land that i do not wish to see delveloped into units, opposite Dee why primary school is a prime postion for an overflow carpark. No sprucing needed, just open the gates and let the drivers figure it out for themselves. But that doesnt bring in money or tax now does it. Feels good to get the truth written down xx NM

    DY Unit Dweller asked 3 months ago

    Hi DY Unit Dweller, 

    From August 11th, council will start charging users of the general car park if they stay beyond the 2-3 hour period (I suggest contacting the Northern Beaches Council for clarification of the exact hours). There's therefore no motivation for commuters to park in these areas. Instead, commuters will head towards the 120 free car parking spaces provided by B-Line. In the event that these are full, commuters will then have to contemplate whether they pay for use of the car park (as most commuters will stay past the short, free period in the general car park) or locate alternate parking in nearby streets.

    Aside from the reference to our 120 spaces, the other issues raised in your enquiry related to Council planning and development. 

    I hope this helps.
    Please don't hesitate to reach out again if we can answer anything further. 

    Thanks, 

    Stevi 

  • I note the adverse comments regarding proposed locations of commuter car parking and see that the decrepit and empty medical centre adjacent to councils car parking is for sale, why doesn't council purchase and demolish? Julian

    JC asked 7 months ago

    Hi Julian,

    Thank you for passing on your recommendations. I have forwarded your suggestion to the project team.

    ~ Melanie

  • Will there be changes to the clearway rules in Dee Why? Currently there is a southbound clearway in the morning peak and a north bound clearway during the evening peak? Will thes be changed? If so, have businesses along the road been informed?

    maxjaffa asked 7 months ago

    Hi maxjaffa,

    Under the existing B-Line development peak clearways will remain in place. Any plans to make changes to current clearway and parking restrictions will be subject to another Review of Environmental Factors assessment and will require further community consultation before any determinations are made.

    ~ Melanie

  • Is the B-line service currently on schedule? And in the interim is it possible to have more express busses starting from Dee Why? Current waiting times of twenty minutes at the bus stop for an available bus is hefty..

    shanebrunette asked 7 months ago

    Hi shanebrunette,

    The B-Line bus service is planned to be operational by late 2017. 

    Although there are no immediate changes to current bus services, The B-Line service is a rapid route service, which forms part of a new Northern Beaches Bus Network and Services Plan to be implemented at the same time the B-Line service begins operations in late 2017.  The bus network and services plan will reduce duplication of services and provide a simpler and more easily understood network for customers.

    ~Melanie


  • Are you developing a system to ensure the car park at Dee Why PCYC is available for commuters and not solely used by the locals to park their cars, trailers and boats? Good luck with the project

    RW asked 11 months ago

    Hi RW,

    TfNSW is investigating a variety options to restrict these car parks to commuters only, using car park entry and exit control points and Opal card technology.

    More information will be available as we near completion of the project.

    Thank you for your support for the B-Line Project.

    ~Melanie

  • I'm really concerned about losing the median strip with it's trees in Dee Why, they are about the only thing that softens this area and helps to create a people friendly space, we have had to put up with a lot of development such as high rise building and now a super freeway through the town center. Please rethink this option.

    sven asked about 1 year ago

    Hi sven

    We are currently finalising environmental documentation regarding road improvement works at Dee Why. Further information about the proposal will be available on the website in the near future.

    ~ Neil

  • The PCYC is too distant from B-Line and is unsuitable in adverse weather conditions. Develop the Library Carpark to accommodate more cars with overhead bridge for south bound B-Line coming from the upper levels of the carpark..

    Dennis C. asked over 1 year ago

    Hi Dennis

    Thank you for your comments, which have been noted.

    ~ Alison

  • Have you considered extra free parking for those who want to travel to the City after the rush hour? My educated guess is that the PCYC Car Park will be full by 7.30am so what happens after that?

    Alastair asked over 1 year ago

    Hi Alastair

    Demand for park and ride activity at each bus stop location, including Dee Why, was determined using travel to work data from the most recent census, and includes forecasts for growth in the workforce at catchment areas around each car park location. Increases in bus patronage encouraged by improved access to the B-Line service was also considered.

    Commuter car parking is only one way to access public transport services. A new bus service plan for the Northern Beaches region is being prepared, which will include effective connectivity to the new B-Line service, and active transport (cycling and pedestrian) enhancements are also included as part of the program. 

    ~ Alison

  • Thanks Neil Can you therefore confirm that the additional parking spaces at the new PCYC will indeed be long-term i.e. 12 hour and not restricted to a 3 hour time limit. Thanks and regards

    prosser asked over 1 year ago

    Hi prosser

    The current Transport for NSW policy is for free, untimed commuter car parking on a first-come, first-serve basis. This includes Dee Why, where up to 120 additional spaces is proposed.

    We’re continuing to investigate different options to ensure parking is maximised for commuters.

    ~ Neil

  • This plan has the potential to be a fantastic opportunity to construct separated bicycle lanes as part of the B-line works. This would provide safe and efficient travel for cyclist as well as for buses and reduce overall conflict between motorists and cyclists. Have you consulted with cycling groups and advocates to understand the realities of cycling both as a commuter and as a recreational user along the main arteries and how these types of cycling impact traffic flow? Has the new 1m & 1.5m passing laws for bicycles been modeled in the traffic studies to understand the impact on average speeds with and without separate bicycles lanes? Thanks Neil.

    Paul asked over 1 year ago

    Hi Paul

    A major part of the B-Line program involves improving active transport links around (within 2.5km of) stops. Safe bike storage at each stop is also a major focus.

    Cycling demand was established from census and survey data and patronage information collected from Opal ticketing.

    Changes to lane designations and alternate cycling routes are being considered where there are typically impacts to bus speeds. Design has incorporated relevant legislation

    ~ Neil

  • Thanks Neil. However, according to Council the previous long-term park at Dee Why (now the PCYC site) had 118 long-term parking spaces. B-Line info now states that 120 new long-term parking spaces will be provided. Thus, according to your response, demand studies forecast the growth in the catchment area in and around Dee Why will require only 2 more long-term parking spaces than previously. Or am I wrong. Regards

    prosser asked over 1 year ago

    Hi prosser

    As part of the B-Line program, we are proposing to provide an additional 120 commuter car parking spaces at Dee Why. According to the Warringah Council website, the PCYC redevelopment would allow an addtional 230 spaces when compared with its previous capacity. 

    ~ Neil


  • I think this is a great step to create an efficient bus system, reducing the amount of buses in local areas and putting them to provide additional L90 services or the like along the main arterial line. Similar commuter carparks should be erected in Dee why and Warringah mall

    Smarch asked over 1 year ago

    Hi Smarch

    The Northern Beaches B-Line program includes commuter parking facilities at Dee Why and Brookvale (opposite Warringah Mall). 

    ~ Alison

  • As the major passenger contributor to North-South (and future East-West) B-Line services, future facilities at Dee Why will be crucial. Information provided thus far states an additional 120 long-term commuter parking spaces will be provided. Additional to what ? Since the redevelopment of the PCYC site nearly one year ago, there is presently NO long-term commuter parking (i.e. more than 3 hours) in the general vicinity of the Dee Why bus interchange. Does this mean that an ever-expanding Dee Why and its surrounding feeder suburbs will be in fact be serviced by just 120 commuter parking spaces, which is less than proposed for Mona Vale and Narrabeen ?

    prosser asked almost 2 years ago

    Hi prosser

    Demand for park and ride activity at each bus stop location, including Dee Why, was determined using travel to work data from the most recent census, and includes forecasts for growth in the workforce at catchment areas around each car park location. Increases in bus patronage encouraged by improved access to the B-Line service were also considered.

    ~ Neil